The 8 Limbs Of Yoga Explained In Detail

The original 8 limbs of yoga offer you to gain knowledge about how yoga was appropriate in all cultures. Yoga is an incredible practice that originated in Egypt and the Indus Valley 5000 years ago. The misconception that yoga is merely a workout is one of the most harmful myths that destroy its essence. We are given a set of tenets by yoga, a holistic philosophy, that teaches us how to navigate life in a spiritually aligned manner.

Decolonization Of Yoga

Decolonizing Yoga is the talk of the town today. But do you actually know what it means?

Decolonization of yoga is a two-fold process. Firstly, It promotes more diverse representation and upliftment of all the classes. Secondly, it teaches the eight limbs of yoga.

What are the 8 limbs of Yoga ?

The Yoga Sutras’ eight limbs are designed to be studied in the sequence they are presented here. Before moving on to the next level, a person must master the previous one.

The name of the eightfold path is ashtanga, which is derived from the words “eight limbs” (ashta and anga).

Here are the 8 limbs of yoga

1. Yamas

The yamas are the ethical guidelines that show us how to interact with others and the environment. These consist of:


This idea entails acting in a way that promotes development and adds to the life energy all around us. This principle calls for treating and caring for other people as an extension of ourselves.


Being on the path of truth isn’t always the easiest path but it is the most noble one. Yoga teaches us to be on the path of truth.


This principle is about respecting other people’s time, energy, vibe and resources. Asteya in person means creating boundaries and limits.


This can be done by practising complete celibacy or just treating our natural life energy as sacrosanct.

Each and every one of yoga’s tenets—which call for treating one another with kindness and mindfulness—is at odds with this system.


It has been stated that the source of all evil is greed. An attitude of scarcity is the root of greed. As a result, people tend to cling on too tightly to money, possessions, and other people, which causes harm to continue. So we should stay away from hoarding.


Niyamas also known as standards are where we should practise inorder to stay in self-discipline.


This principle refers to the cleanliness of mind over cleanliness of body. refers to thinking only good thoughts about oneself and other people. We become open channels for the divine to enter our mind.


 We need to work on being entirely satisfied with the way things are right now.


Tapasya serves as a reminder that although the path to mastery might occasionally be painful, we can harness this fire to fuel our practice and benefit from it.


Yoga is a journey into, through, and towards oneself. The goal of yoga is to direct our attention to our inner world.

Ishvarapranidhana(Surrender To Divine)

A 12-step programme is beneficial to many people who struggle with addiction. Giving over control to a higher power is the first step towards recovery.

This is extremely therapeutic because it enables us to let go of the impulse to exert total control.


Yoga postures are practised in asana. It is advised to take your time with each pose and transition from one to the next while being fully present by focusing on your breathing.

Daily asana leads to improvement in physical and mental wellness.


Breath management is pranayama.

According to yoga theory, our ability to breathe allows us to engage with the subtle life force energy that is all around us.

A 1:4:2 ratio was the original breath-control formula. Purak, or one second of inhalation, followed by Kumbhak, or four seconds of holding the air in the body, and Purak, or two seconds of exhalation (Rechak, in Sanskrit).


Pratyahara is the retreat of senses. This method shows us how to go within and achieve the highest level of tranquility.

According to the ancient Hindu text known as the Bhagavad Gita, our senses are like a boat on the water. 

Each time one of the five senses becomes captivated by an external object, the boat is shaken by the raging waves of sense perception.

We can explore the huge universe that exists within us when we shut off our senses to the outside world.

6. Dharna

Dharana translates to focus. Deep meditation has advantages for the mind’s single-pointed attention.

By gazing at a candle, a deity statue, or another immovable object during meditation, you can train the mind in this manner.We may apply this kind of concentration to our regular lives after the mind learns to focus during meditation.


Meditation is dhyana.Many people are hesitant to start meditating. They think that one can be either good or awful at it. However, meditation is more of a state that we experience than something we do.

8. Samadhi

Samadhi is enlightenment, to sum up.

Yoga’s eight limbs are designed to help us transform from doing to being. We can achieve the most significant life goal that advances our spiritual development once we have mastered all the earlier sutras steps: the capacity to remain in the present moment for an extended period of time.


Yoga offers a glimpse into how, since the dawn of civilization, people have investigated spirituality, the nature of limitless consciousness, the human mind, the mortal body, and other related topics. When we draw on the wisdom of yoga, we recognise how crucial it is to work towards progress—both spiritually and socially.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *